The Vortex by Esther and Jerry Hicks

This is the 3rd book in a second series about the buzzword topic  – the law of attraction by Esther and Jerry Hicks.  Esther had been writing this type of information since 1986 and I learned about them in 2004. Everyone else learned about it when “the Secret” came out.

Just like I did with the earlier books, I played the CD version while following along in the book version. I don’t know if this is just a longing for someone to read to me, but I love doing it. I seem to get more out of the books and my mind stays focused on the material. The CD version was 8 CDs, each about an hour and a half long.

The book’s subtitle is “Where the Laws of Attraction Assembles All Cooperative Relationships”. The main idea of the book is that there are flawed premises most people believe in that hinder getting what they want out of life. A few examples are “If I leave an unwanted situation, I will find what I am looking for “, “To be in harmony with others, we have to believe and want the same things”, and “If I push hard again something long enough, it will go away.” They don’t read very in-depth out of context, but within the book, everything seems so profound.

I’ve read other reviews about this book that say it’s just the same thing they said in their previous books. To me, it was all brand new and brought so much clarity to what the other books where saying. Initially I was the least excited about this book coming out because I didn’t really have relationship issues, but of course, this book was the most meaningful to me. It is the ultimate book to tie all the ideas from Esther’s other books together. I really feel like I’m starting to “get” what it’s all about.

In essence the book states that when we encounter something that makes us feel negatively, we create its equal, happier counterpart in a personal ‘vortex’. When we learn to chill out and concentrate on being happy, the universe arranges ‘cooperative components’ like chance meetings, helpful people, synchronicities, and the likes that will help bring us the happier versions of the things we’ve put into our vortexes. This is an extremely simplified version of the ideas I’m still trying to fully understand after 6 years of study. And when I read the sentences out of context or someone asks me to explain it, it sounds so crazy and unbelievable. But I have so much evidence that it’s worth learning, like my brand new car.

If you’re brand new to the idea of creating your own reality and want to get started learning it, this probably isn’t the book you should start with. But then again, it might be the best. And no matter what anyone else tells you, there’s nothing wrong with wanting to learn how to make your life better.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment